● Guidefor creators picking a clipper

Opus Clip vs
Vizard.

These two are the big AI clippers for recorded video, and they are close enough that the marketing pages do not help much. Everything below comes from their own pricing pages, help centers and API docs, read on 23 September 2026, including the part neither one mentions.

Guides · Published 2026-09-23 · Updated 2026-09-23 · 8 min read

Short answer: both turn a long recorded video into vertical clips with captions, and both charge by the minute of video you feed them, where 1 credit is 1 minute. Opus Clip has more import sources, 18 named ones including Twitch and Kick, a Virality Score from 0 to 99, and a cheaper $15 tier. Vizard gives 600 credits a month for the same $29 that buys 300 at Opus, exports 4K and handles far more languages. Neither clips a stream while it is live.

FROM THEIR OWN SITES

Side by side.

Opus ClipVizardReelShift
When clips are madeAfter you upload a file or import a linkAfter you upload a file or paste a linkDuring the live stream
Live clippingNo: "uploading live videos while they are still streaming is not supported"No: its API docs say live videos are not supportedYes, on Twitch, Kick, YouTube and TikTok LIVE
Link sources18 named, including YouTube, Twitch, Kick, Zoom, Riverside, Apple Podcast, Medal.tv, plus public mp4 URLs12 named, including YouTube, Twitch, TikTok, Instagram, Loom, plus direct mp4 or mov URLsThe live stream; files and URLs on Creator Plus
Free plan60 credits, watermark, no editing, YouTube links and local files only, 3-day export window60 credits, full editor, 720p, watermark, projects expire after 3 daysNo free plan · 7-day free trial
Entry paid price$15 Starter, monthly only, 150 credits$29 Creator, or $14.50 a month billed yearly$24.99 Creator
Credits at $29300 a month per pack (Pro)600 a month (Creator)No credits: unlimited clips, streaming hours metered
Captions and reframeAI animated captions in 20+ languages, AI reframe, object tracking on ProAuto subtitling, auto reframe, translation into 100+ languagesWord-synced captions burned in, auto reframe to 9:16
PostingYouTube, Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, LinkedIn, X; scheduler on ProTikTok, YouTube, Instagram, Facebook, X, LinkedIn; scheduling on paid plansTikTok, YouTube, Instagram; scheduling on Creator Plus
Voice commandNot statedNot statedYes, every plan

Opus Clip facts from opus.pro/pricing and help.opus.pro; Vizard facts from vizard.ai/pricing, help.vizard.ai and docs.vizard.ai. Checked 23 September 2026. Both change their plans often; verify before buying.

What they both do

The core loop is the same on both. You give it a long recorded video, by uploading a file or pasting a link. It transcribes the audio, an AI model picks the moments worth cutting, and you get vertical clips with captions burned in, reframed so the speaker stays in shot. You can edit each clip, then download, post or schedule it.

The pricing shape matches too. Both sell credits, and on both one credit is one minute of the video you put in, not one clip you get out. A 60 minute podcast costs 60 credits either way. Both give new accounts 60 free credits a month, both watermark free exports, and both delete free projects after 3 days.

Credits, price and refunds

This is the clearest difference, and it favours Vizard.

  • Opus Clip: Free 60 credits a month. Starter $15 a month for 150 credits, monthly billing only. Pro $29 a month for 300 credits, or $14.50 a month billed annually at $174, and you can add more packs of 300. Business is custom. Monthly credits expire after 60 days, so they roll over one month. Posting to X also costs 1 credit per post.
  • Vizard: Free 60 credits a month. Creator $29 a month for 600 credits, or $14.50 a month billed yearly at $174. Business $39 a month, or $19.50 billed yearly at $234, with extra seats at $5 each. Its help center says monthly minutes carry into the next month.

Same headline price, double the minutes at Vizard. Opus Clip's answer is the $15 Starter tier, which Vizard has no match for, and Starter already includes the Virality Score, the editor and watermark free export.

Refunds are tight on both. Vizard asks for the request within 7 days of purchase and covers unused services only, and once you have uploaded video and used the tools it counts as used. Opus Clip gives new accounts a 7-day Pro trial with no card, refunds credits when a post fails, and lets paid users reprocess a project for a credit refund if the clips are bad.

Where Opus Clip is stronger

  • Sources. 18 named link sources: Apple Podcast, YouTube, Google Drive, Vimeo, Zoom, Zoom Clips, Rumble, Twitch, Facebook, LinkedIn, X, Dropbox, Riverside, Loom, Frame.io, StreamYard, Kick and Medal.tv, plus public mp4 URLs and local files. Most of the list needs Pro; the free plan is YouTube and local files only.
  • Long video. Up to 10 hours per video.
  • A score you can sort by. The Virality Score runs 0 to 99 and is built from four things its help center names: hook, flow, value and trend. Clips arrive sorted by it, on Starter and Pro.
  • Gameplay layouts. Screenshare and gameplay layout and dynamic layout switching are on every plan, free included. Object tracking and the 1:1 and 16:9 ratios need Pro.
  • A real trial. 7 days of Pro with no credit card, which turns into the free plan after that. Trial exports keep the watermark and cannot be posted straight to social.
  • Editor exports. Send clips to Adobe Premiere Pro or DaVinci Resolve on Pro.

Where Vizard is stronger

  • Minutes per dollar. 600 credits a month on Creator against 300 on Opus Clip Pro at the same price.
  • Languages. Its help center lists transcription in about 40 languages and subtitle translation in more than 100. Opus Clip says over 25, several still in beta, and sells captions as 20+ languages.
  • Export quality. 4K on Creator and Business. On Opus Clip the free plan tops out at 1080p.
  • The free plan is more usable. It includes the full editor. Opus Clip's free plan has no editing at all.
  • Scheduling with a filter. Auto schedule can post only clips above a minimum viral score, up to 10 a day, across TikTok, YouTube, Instagram, Facebook, X and LinkedIn.
  • Self-serve API. Published rate limits of 1 call a minute on free, 3 on Creator and 10 on Business, with no sales call.

Which handles your kind of video

Both now claim any genre, but their own words differ.

Vizard's help center is blunt: it works best with speech based video, and it names podcasts, webinars, educational videos, commentaries, interviews and speeches, with a recommendation to upload more than 15 minutes. Its Spark 1.0 model adds visual, audio and sentiment analysis, which it says lets it clip video with little or no dialogue, including game streams and sports.

Opus Clip splits the job between two models: ClipBasic, and ClipAnything for any genre including gaming and sports, driven by a prompt. It also publishes how many clips to expect: 1 to 2 from a video under 3 minutes, 23 to 32 from 30 to 60 minutes, and 42 to 55 from anything over two hours.

For talking heads, either works. If your source is gameplay with no commentary, test both free plans first.

What neither one does

Neither clips a stream while it is live, and both say so in their own docs. Opus Clip's help center says uploading live videos while they are still streaming is not supported, and warns that YouTube itself can take 10 to 30 minutes to release a short finished stream and 2 to 12 hours for a long one. Vizard's API docs say live videos are not supported. So on both, a moment from hour one is clippable some time after you go offline.

That is fine for a podcast. It is a problem for streamers, because the first clip of a moment is the one that travels. ReelShift sits in that gap: it reads the live stream on Twitch, Kick, YouTube and TikTok LIVE, cuts moments from audio spikes, emotion and chat speed seconds after they happen, and has them vertical and captioned in your library within minutes. Say "clip that" on stream to grab the last 60 seconds. There is no free plan and it does not repurpose podcasts. Seehow live clipping works, or compare the three in best AI clipping tools.

FAQ

Quick answers.

Which is cheaper, Opus Clip or Vizard?

At $29 a month they cost the same, and both come to $174 on a yearly plan, but Vizard Creator gives 600 credits a month against 300 on Opus Clip Pro. Opus Clip is cheaper if 150 credits is enough: its Starter plan is $15 a month, billed monthly only, and Vizard has nothing at that price.

Do either of them clip a live stream?

No. Opus Clip's help center says uploading live videos while they are still streaming is not supported. Vizard's API docs say live videos are not supported. Both work from the finished recording.

Do both put a watermark on clips?

On their free plans, yes. Opus Clip removes it on any paid plan, including from your old free projects, but keeps it on free trial exports. Vizard removes it on Creator and Business.

Which one takes Twitch and Kick links?

Opus Clip lists both, on the Pro plan. Vizard lists Twitch but not Kick. Neither reads the stream while it is live.

Which is better for a podcast?

Either. Vizard's help center recommends speech based video longer than 15 minutes and gives more minutes per dollar. Opus Clip handles video up to 10 hours, imports from Apple Podcast, Riverside and Zoom, and scores every clip.

KEEP READING

Last updated 2026-09-23 · competitor facts checked on their own sites the same day

Stop editing.
Start growing.